A Birthday Dreamscape | Epilogue: The Comfort of My Cake

July 10, 2015 § 2 Comments

Act I –  Voyage to the edge of the universe

Act II – Quantified-self, lifelogs and someone else’ mindscape

Act III – The hybrid Here and Now


Epilogue – The comfort of my cake

July.  I have not found answers.

IMG_2586 cropped

IMG_2628

_DSC3599 cropped

IMG_2895 cropped

Recollecting on the birthday, now three months later, all the things I am sure about are analogue – my cake tasted both nutty and moist in my mouth; this new pen holds with a nice weight in my hand and writes smoothly; each of the chocolate truffles had exotic flavors, but just the right amount of bitter darkness; the weather is now warm enough to wear these funky shorts, the soft cotton fabric gentling brushing my legs…

More than these primal sensations, I take comfort in the fact that behind these are people who care about me.  However fleeting the moment, whichever medium better preserves the memory, I know I am loved.    Perhaps that is enough.

On the other hand, there is no getting away from data any more.  I can stop thinking about whether the digital gene pool of the superhumans will have any snippet of code traceable to me.  I can stay away from artists who provoke questions without providing answers.  I can refrain from contemplating how soon artificial intelligence will be followed by artificial sensations and augmented reality by augmented love, and musing whether those would be a blessing or a curse.   But whether I quantify myself or not, the world of data analytics is already tracking me in my daily life.   Unlike artists fixated on self-examination, the invisible trackers in the cloud are analyzing me as a consumer –  whether to push house mortgage on me, whether I am likely to fall for anti-aging products, or whether I am showing signs of schizophrenia. Patterns are being found about me, and they will be monetised in some way for someone.  Wouldn’t it be better that I am aware of them myself?

Resist, or embrace?

By my next birthday, I will be at better peace, not the least of which knowing whether and what to do about my digital existence.  I still have 9 months to figure that out, which I probably should track.

Act I –  Voyage to the edge of the universe

Act II – Quantified-self, lifelogs and someone else’ mindscape

Act III – The hybrid Here and Now

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to A Birthday Dreamscape | Epilogue: The Comfort of My Cake

  • joncastor says:

    Happy Birthday Act II BeiBei! Let’s hope that the creators and maintainers of the superhuman gene pool recognize the value of diversity. If everyone is genetically identical, and likely in that event, ‘processed through the same perfect educational experiences,, it will likely be boring! Having said that, there are a few undesirable traits that it would be nice to send to a museum. The trick as with all things grey, will be deciding where to draw the line… and who decides!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Birthday Dreamscape | Epilogue: The Comfort of My Cake at .

meta

